My Top 3 Travel Tips

My husband and I recently took a short trip to San Diego CA and I wanted to share a few things that made this trip very relaxing.

  • Don’t rent a car if you have Lyft or another ride service available. We used Lyft for the times we got tired of walking or distance was too far to walk. It was wonderful not to deal with traffic, parking, and navigating. Walking allowed us to be more spontaneous, stop at unexpected places along the way, and notice things we may not otherwise see.

 

  • Allow yourself to simply do nothing! After all, that’s the purpose of a getaway…to relax and do or not do the normal things on your day to day agenda. We sat on the balcony of our hotel room and watched the boats, the people, and talked. By not over-planning and having too much on our agenda, we came across a great funk band that was playing early…so after walking to dinner, we walked in and had a great time dancing before walking back to our hotel.
  • Pack a little creativity into your trip, starting on your flight. A friend of mine shared with me the idea of using the Southwest Magazine to tear out anything that inspires you. I chose to create a few blackout poems. Another thing I enjoyed was coming across an art supply store on one of our walks.

 

What are some of your favorite travel tips? ~Maria

2 comments

  1. The two last advises I can agree to are great. I always like to make room for improvising when I am travelling. I have to admit I have never heard about Lyft, but it sounds like a great service.

    1. Thank you Otto, you are probably more accustomed to mass transit being more available than we have in most areas here in the U.S. You being a photographer can really appreciate walking as a means of getting around and taking spontaneous photos. Lyft was just a ride service to get us to some of these areas.

What do you think?

