Paris in Love

IMG_1401

My husband and I were recently roaming the bookstore….like we used to do on a regular basis, and he bought me this book because he thought I’d really enjoy it. He was right. Although I have not read through it all, the introduction was where I fell in love. Yes, the author had me at hello and here’s why.

Excerpt from the introduction:

“I had made grand plans to write four books while in Paris……..But in spite of these inestimable ambitions, I found myself walking for hours. I read books in bed while rain hit the windows. Sometimes I spent two weeks doing one Sunday New York Times crossword……

Soon enough, I discovered an interesting fact: if a writer doesn’t put in hours at the keyboard every day, no writing gets done. I had always suspected this was true, but having grown up in a family of writers, I never had the chance to test it out. Even during an inglorious, nonacademic spell after college, I returned home after work to plug away at a novel. Remember, my mother sat in her hospice bed correcting copyedits. Leisure didn’t seem to be part of my DNA.

Yet virtually the only writing I did was on Facebook, where I created something of an online chronicle, mirroring it in even more concise form on Twitter. As each day passed, my thumbnail entries fell off the bottom of my Facebook page, relegated to Older Posts. My tweets evaporated, as ephemeral and trivial, as sweet and heedless, as our days in Paris.

A selection of these posts – organized, revised, a few expanded into short essays – has become this book. For the most part, I have retained the short form, the small explosion of experience, as it best gives the flavor of my days.

Those days were organized not around to-do lists and book deadlines but around walks in the park and visits to the fishmonger. Deadlines came and went without a catastrophic blow to my publishing career; I relaxed into a life free of both students and committee work; laziness ceased to be a frightening word.

I never did learn how to live in the moment, but I did learn that moments could be wasted and the world would continue to spin on its axis.

It was a glorious lesson.” ~ Eloisa James

What I love here is that she allowed her time away to teach her something….and in a very different way from what she was accustomed to or from what she had planned. And in that adventure she created something beautiful.

I wonder how many of you are using Facebook to write and share your life….and what would that look like in a book form….just for you.

Until next time, may you be inspired to create! ~Maria

4 comments

  1. For me, Facebook is my only place to just hang loose, and be dumb, reposting sappy quotes, etc. I’m seriously considering removing myself from that venue of a time waster. But where to write? Ah…maybe the blog 🙂

    1. Thanks for your comment Angeline. I think many, including myself, have considered doing that but it just seems to suck us back in. Maybe just limiting our time spent on there would be the best of both worlds. That seems to work for me. I removed my FB phone app 7 months ago….I don’t miss it one bit. But yes, please keep writing and creating.

  2. I have discovered that write takes time, too. I guess it shouldn’t be a surprised. But into my second novel now, I know it doesn’t write itself. I agree with you, the foreword by Eloisa James is a lesson to be learned by any aspiring writer. Have a great weekend, Mary.

What do you think?

