Creativity As Therapy

 

photo copy 6

How do you get out of a rut or a funk? I’m not talking about a 24 hour rut. I’m talking about big life changes that spiral you downwards. The kind that only subside momentarily from time to time. Like a slippery slope you just can’t seem to get a grip of. That’s been me for the past 2 months! Enough already! I’m reclaiming my groove.

 I came back from our one month adventure in San Jose California and I have had a hard time getting my groove back……Until I met with my creative group. All it took was 2 hours with them, sitting around the table with our art supplies out and a common goal….to create something in our Big Creative Journals. All was well that afternoon as if I had just consumed a happy pill! But I’ve noticed that if I don’t create something every day, no matter how small, I can slip into a place that I don’t like.

Today I encourage you to consider creativity as therapy. If it helps you feel good just for one day, then it’s worth it. Repeat daily. Reclaim your creative groove.

IMG_4074

Until next time, “Be Inspired to Create!” #bi2c ~Maria

“What art offers is space…a certain breathing room for the spirit.”  John Updike

 

 

4 comments

  1. As weird as this might sound, a funk can be cleansing and help set new inspiration points in place. And, it helps you empathize with others when they are in a funk. The waves come and go 🙂 We know that eventually, everything changes. Relax.

  2. You are so right about art being good therapy. Being apart of the Ceeative Mingle allows me to be creative because sometime I may not get to my art for weeks. However I do have a small art book I have been drawing in every evening.

    Thanks for sharing.

What do you think?

