It’s Not Trash, It’s Poetry

Every day I seem to get a lot of junk mail and magazines I’m sure I never ordered. I used to throw it all away without even thinking about it until I learned about blackout poetry. I first came across a TED talk by Austin Kleon talking about this so I bought his book, Newspaper Blackout. It totally changed how I look at text, particularly magazines but really, anything and everything can be your victim. All you need is a black marker. It’s fun creating things for friends too. These are some of my blackout poems.

photo 6

(You’re lucky to experience Love. This is Life.)

photo 3(Boredom created to keep you engaged with yourself. Get serious there’s a game to be played soon. Fun pays off.)

IMG_4887

(Travel to me is diversity in which nature is prepared by consistent spirit.)

IMG_4897(Diego & Jerry Lynn at their marriage dancing.)  I used the actually wedding invitation to make a card with a photo I took at the wedding. I wrote a personal note on the flap and mailed it back to them.

Screen Shot 2014-01-30 at 8.00.57 PM

Screen Shot 2014-02-02 at 4.47.45 PM

Until next time, “Be Inspired to Create!” #bi2c ~Maria

4 comments

    1. Damita, it’s fun, simple, and always exciting to see what will come out of it. I love the mystery and not knowing. Please share and I will schedule a meet up to do this.

    1. Too funny Jann, just be discreet while redesigning all those magazines. I think it would be so fun to take FB posts and create some black out poems.

What do you think?

