Coming Out of a Funk

Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 6.28.14 PMHow can someone go from a fabulous weekend to a sudden funk…(also know as a rut)? We all go through that and I figured the easiest way to show you my week was to let you in my journal pages. Not always are we going to feel creative. It’s the ebb and flow of life. The best way I have found to deal with it is …..to just deal with it. Let it be. On my morning walk today, listening to music I also made a quick phone call to a friend. That call made my day better. After getting home I read a post on BrainPickings: The 13 Best Art and Design Books of 2013 and I could feel the return of inspiration slowly approaching.

We’re all looking for a fix, but guess what….there is no formula for getting out of a funk. What works for me may not work for you but I do believe we need to find our own dance and our own groove with our funk. So just breathe, let it ride, go work on another project, take a walk, take another walk, listen to music, call a special friend, doodle, and then repeat. Here are some other things worth doing:

* Change your environment…… your scenery

* Get out of the house

* Go to a movie

* Grab lunch with a friend

* Tend to your garden

* Call it a day

“The only bad thing about having a good creative day is that it ends, and there’s no guarantee we can repeat it tomorrow.” Twyla Tharp

Until next time, be well, sleep well, love well, and create something every day! ~Maria

2 comments

  1. I’m always impressed when someone publicly admits a vulnerability. Even though creatives know that there are some days when the juices don’t flow so readily, we don’t much like to admit it. Thanks for the very frank vulnerability and great advice! My strategy is to take a day out—not a day off so much as a day out of the whirlwind. Reading a totally different subject matter for a day rejuvenates me for the next day of flowing creativity!

    1. Jann, I am learning that practicing “creativity” is helping me more vulnerable and being more vulnerable is helping me be more creative. I love how this works!

What do you think?

