Art in the Park

Screen Shot 2013-11-21 at 8.18.25 PM

I’ve had this idea of taking action with what I preach and making art easy and fun anywhere. My mission is to debunk the myth that some of us are not creative. In fact, my book activities are focused around the idea that creativity can be practiced anywhere and in a short amount of time. So I have to thank my friend Steve Harper for allowing me to test this particular art activity with him. Here’s what he had to say about it:

“It was a perfect fall afternoon and Maria and I decided to take a little trip to a local park and see where our imagination took us. Maria was amazing, teaching me how to use watercolor pencils for the first time and how to feel like a real live artist.

The art in the park experience was nothing short of amazing. Though I had planned to be at our little impromptu art session (in the middle of a workday mind you) for just an hour, the time passed too quickly and I was not ready for it to end.

I was lost in the power of the experience as Maria encouraged me to explore and have fun. “There are no mistakes” she kept telling me and encouraged me to experiment, let go and simply have fun.

I’m not an artist by any stretch of the imagination but for one beautiful afternoon Maria Gatling sure made me feel like one. Our “Art In The Park” session was incredible and I certainly can’t wait to schedule another one.

I’ve thought about that short but powerful session with Maria several times this week and it brings a smile to my face every time. Art in the park in my mind was a success. The end results wasn’t a fantastic piece of work but it was my piece of work and I was proud of it.” ~Steve Harper

Until next time, be well, sleep well, love well, and create something every day! ~Maria

What do you think?

