Creative Journaling

IMG_3335

Today I thought I would just focus on my big creative journal book. It’s a 9×12 blank sketch book which I leave out on my table with art supplies, ready to use at all times. Customize it to make it your own style and come to it every day.

Screen Shot 2013-07-10 at 9.50.27 AM

Journaling for me has been a process that started with the simple act of writing some of my favorite quotes and excerpts. Journaling, like any other creative expression, takes doing it on a regular basis, so much so that it becomes a habit and a way of living for you. It’s exciting to see your own style of journaling evolve over time. I am always inspired and reminded by what others post and teach on the subject of journaling. I take what inspires me and apply it to my own, creating my own style along the way. It’s like taking ingredients you want to cook with.

I recently read this blog post and was excited to read Tip#1 “I journal quotes that I love and live by.” and “Don’t take it too seriously.”

Read the entire post here: http://simplerexistence.com/journaltips/

We all “journal” in so many different ways and when you consider blogging and FB posting, those are also a form of journaling. I like to take some of my blog posts and FB postings and print them out to insert into my big creative journal book. This idea really took on a more exciting life after I met Katherine Torrini of Creative Life Spark. Check out all of her exciting happenings here: http://creativelifespark.com/wordpress/

Quotes for your creative journaling inspiration:

“What I do every day matters more than what I do once in a while.” (from Gretchen Rubin’s “Secrets of Adulthood”)

“Be here now, Be somewhere else later.” Garr Reynolds

“When people aren’t having any fun, they seldom produce good work.” David Ogilvy

“So when we write and begin with an empty page and a heart unsure, a famine of thoughts, a fear of no feeling – just begin from there, from that electricity.” Natalie Goldberg

“Words are a form of action, capable of influencing change.” Ingrid Bengis

“Life does not consist mainly, or even largely, of facts and happenings. It consists mainly of the storm of thoughts that is forever blowing through one’s head.” Mark Twain

“Why should we all use our creative power…? Because there is nothing that makes people so generous, joyful, lively, bold and compassionate, so indifferent to fighting and the accumulation of objects and money. Because the best way to know the truth or beauty is to try to express it.” Brenda Ueland

“There is something necessary and life giving about creative work (a state of excitement). It is like a faucet – nothing comes unless you turn it on, and the more you turn it on, the more it comes.”  Brenda Ueland 

“We get better at what we practice…..So what are you practicing?” Seth Godin (The Icarus Deception)

What are some of your favorite journaling tips and ideas?

Until next time, be well, sleep well, love well, and create something every day! ~Maria

3 comments

What do you think?

