In My Own Words

How To Get Your Words Out of Your Head

Ten years ago I purchased a small red leather journal…..and put it on my shelf. Soon after, I went out and bought Brenda Ueland’s book “If You Want To Write” and read it. This book truly is about art, independence and spirit. As a visual artist her words really captured my heart. I was afraid of putting my own words down on paper so I began by writing down all my highlighted excerpts from this book. I found that it was easy to write down other people’s words…words that inspired me! Soon after, I realized that I was making my own comments and writing down my thoughts…even wrote a poem or two.

I share this with you because here I am 10 years later writing this blog post, something I never thought I would be doing. I don’t consider myself a “writer” but when you think about it, don’t we all need to be and benefit from practicing our writing skills? My blog has been that practice for me and along the way I have taken more interest in learning more about writing better. Writing is simply another form of expression. Combining it with my doodles surely has to be the best of both worlds!

This is where I am now, thanks to Katherine Torrini who expanded my views on combining both worlds. Check out her site to learn more about her upcoming juicy journaling e-course starting November 1.  I am excited and honored to be one of her guests!

“Life does not consist mainly, or even largely, of facts and happenings. It consists mainly of the storm of thoughts that is forever blowing through one’s head.” Mark Twain 

Until next time, be well, sleep well, love well, and create something every day! ~Maria

One comment

  1. So excited for you and your book and being a guest speaker. Writing is one of the few forms of communication that keeps history alive. I hope that my grandchildren keep everything I write to them – cards, notes, letters – just as I have all the mail I sent to my grandmother. She saved all of these papers in an old jewelry box. My sisters and I found these treasures when we cleaned out her house in MN. She was in a nursing home at the time and lived to be 99. She kept a diary on her monthly calendars so we know what she did every day.

What do you think?

