Your Passport to Bliss

I recently had the opportunity to write my first article for “Celebrate Home” magazine. I am including my article here but let me encourage you to download this beautiful magazine! I was blown away by all the beautiful articles and photography! Truly an honor for me to be a part of this!

You can download your Free digital version of the inaugural issue by clicking on the link below. You can also download a free app for the iPad, which I did, so you can view the magazine on your ipad.

 http://www.magcloud.com/browse/issue/447668

Your Passport to Bliss: Tips For Creating Your Own Creative Space 

Unless you have a full time job as a creative, chances are that you may not have a space to call your own at home. A space where you can escape to sit and write, draw, sew, or do anything creative for your own pleasure is specifically what I am talking about.

Unfortunately most of us are guilty of designing spaces that allow space for just about anything else except a place to nurture our souls! Even the laundry seems to take priority over nurturing our creative spirit! But it’s never too late to reclaim a space in your home where you can leave your supplies out and come back to them daily.

Here are 4 simple tips to get you on your way to designing your own creative space.

  1. Dream! All things are possible, especially when you put your intentions out there. Start collecting images from your favorite magazines or online sources. Put them out where you can see them, maybe even start a vision board for this project.
  2. Design your own desk and work area. If you could have any room and space in your home to call your own, what would that look like. Draw it out on paper as if you were presenting it to a contractor. Go to the home improvement store and select paint samples for your wall. You may start out with a small corner, but one day you may have children who have grown up and moved out, leaving you with some extra space to claim as your own creative studio.
  3. Act on it! Even if you have to start with a small corner of a room, you are one step closer to achieving your dream space. Place a small desk in this space and decorate it with just as much importance as you would give to a whole room. It’s helpful if you are be able to leave your supplies out, but also allow for some storage and organization.
  4. Fuel your inspiration! If you can paint a section of this space, choose a color that makes you feel happy. Keep a few books nearby that are a quick source of inspiration. I also find that placing a vision board on my wall inspires me to change it up regularly with different images and quotes. I am a big fan of quotes and the power of their message. I like to have several quotes printed out in large type so I can rotate them on my vision board. This space is where you will come to escape and be inspired to create so make it fun and add some humor to keep the mood light. Let this space, small as it may be, reflect your creative spirit.

Creativity is a spice for life! Everything we do is richer when we are able to infuse our creativity into it. Our creative spirit carries over to all areas of our life including our family and friends; it reflects how we live and love. Make creativity as important to you as your health.

Home is where we all get to create a big part of our life! For me, my home is where it all begins. Family and friends at home sharing a meal, conversation, and music is what plants the seed of love which in turn gets the all the other wheels turning. From love at home I am able to turn that energy into unleashing my creativity. When home life is good, the rest is much easier! So focusing on creating a loving home environment is where I begin. From that, I am able to give a better part of myself to others.

Until next time, be well, sleep well, love well, and create something every day! ~Maria

“Art is the only way to run away without leaving home.” ~Twyla Tharp

One comment

What do you think?

