Creating Something Every Day

I am realizing more and more that creativity is discovered in everyday living. It’s discovered in small unexpected moments and when you realize you’ve just been “creative” in a small way, it can spark excitement.

“Creativity is not a pastime. It’s an essential part of who we are, finding countless expressions in our life each day.”
~Tyler Enfield

The following are posts that reflect “creating something every day”

The Gift: I recently interviewed one of the neatest ladies I’ve ever met. She is Lisa LaPaso and I interviewed her for http://www.austin-architecture.com which is an on-line video magazine. Like so many other interviews I’ve done, I really enjoyed talking with her and connected with her so well. She invited several of us to her home for a very special home cooked meal as a way of thanking us. It’s a gift when you make special connections with people you really like. So I bought a small gift for her and decided to wrap it in a different way.
I took two pages from the Oprah magazine and punched holes on three sides so I could weave ribbon through them. This made a pocket, so to speak, for the book. I inserted the book and and ran ribbon through two holes at the top to close it off. I could have just put the book in a gift bag with tissue but it’s the special touch that says, “I thought about you in a very special way”.

 

 

A Day in the Hill Country: How do you get out of a rut? We all experience it and yet it’s hard to define what got us to that place and how to get out of it. Recently, I spent 24 hours in the hill country with two of my girlfriends to celebrate a birthday. We stayed at Willow Point Resort, on lake Buchanan. I love these cabins because they are on the water, small and cozy, no television, and quiet. I find that getting out of my day to day environment is always a great way to clear my head, be inspired, and hopefully get out of a rut.

The Art of Inspiration: This is the art of inspiration! I was recently hanging out with a girlfriend and stopped by an antique shop in Georgetown. Even though I’m not a collector of antiques and tend to prefer a more modern look, I am always inspired by uncommon objects such as this one. I’ve been wanting a mannequin for my bedroom simply to play around with funky outfits that I may not wear but find interesting or inspiring. I find it artsy!  What are some of your inspirational moments?


“Creativity is not just for artists. It’s for businesspeople looking for a new way to close a sale; it’s for engineers trying to solve a problem; it’s for parents who want their children to see the world in more than one way.” Twyla Tharp

2 comments

  1. Enjoyed this one! Also missed seeing you today at the Dell creative offsite – I thought you were going to be speaking. Nicole told me you were going to be talking to smaller groups. Hope you come talk to GSD!!! Also hope you are finding creative ways to enjoy this hot summer! xoxo

What do you think?

