My Creativity “Push”

“Doing is better than not doing, and if you do something badly you’ll learn to do it better. If it’s something you want to do, make the time.”  Twyla Tharp – The Creative Habit

Editors note: This is a guest post from Greta Olivas at http://golivas.wordpress.com/

I joined Twitter in March of 2009, and for inspiration I looked for and followed photographers and artists.  At the time I had a hard time finding artists, but I did find lots of photographers.  In late 2009 I came across Photographer Tasra Dawson (@tasradawson on twitter) http://twitter.com/tasradawson, who had a 365 day challenge for photographers, to take a photo every day to become a better photographer.

I thought “why not?”, so I started my blog in January 2010 and tried to take a photo every day.  It was not easy, but I think posting it online, sharing on twitter and facebook, it kind of gave me the “pressure” to do it.  I don’t know that many people looked at my blog, but just the idea that maybe someone was expecting me to do it was enough incentive to keep at it.  No, I did not do the prefect 365 days, but I tried (unfortunately I work full time at a non-creative job).

In doing this I really learned a lot about my camera and I did get better with my photographs.  I have had photographer friends tell me they noticed a big improvement in my skills as a photographer, so I guess I did what I set out to accomplish.  I am not done though, there is always something to learn.

Next I may incorporate my paintings into my blog, and post updates on that, since I need the “push” to keep at it.  I do think social media helped me keep pressure on myself, it has also inspired me, by following so many amazing artists and photographers.  I know that some day I will reach my goal to make a living at what I love to do!

http://www.facebook.com/GretaOlivasArtPhotography / Follow Me On Twitter: @golivas  /  Blog: http://golivas.wordpress.com/

Many thanks to Greta for this guest post! Please leave your comments and let Greta know what you think.

Be well, Sleep well, and Create Something Every Day!

One comment

What do you think?

