Nothing is wasted

Through habit, I’ve become accustomed to seeing my world as a source of endless possibilities for creating. I take photos not for anyone else but to capture an image that serves me. I keep and cut through pages of magazines. I have a bag full of wine corks that will soon become a very large cork board and another bag overflowing with bottle caps. Not sure what they will become yet. Everything in your world is raw material for you.

This excerpt from The Creative Habit by Twyla Tharp is very well said!

“Everything that happens in my day is a transaction between the external world and my internal world. Everything is raw material. Everything is relevant. Everything is usable. Everything feeds into my creativity. But without proper preparation, I cannot see it, retain it, and use it. Without the time and effort invested in getting ready to create, you can be hit by the thunderbolt and it’ll just leave you stunned.” Twyla Tharp – The Creative Habit

I read Rob Bell’s new book, Drops Like Stars and felt this section was relevant to my message.

‘So in the end every major disaster, every tiny error, every wrong turning, every fragment of discarded clay, all the blood, sweat and tears – everything has meaning. I give it meaning. I reuse, reshape, recast all that goes wrong so that in the end nothing is wasted and nothing is without significance and nothing ceases to be precious to me.‘  – Harriet March

“At the end of her speech, I have a question: is she talking about sculptor or life? My hope is is that by the end of this book, your answer to that question will be yes.” Rob Bell – Drops Like Stars

My answer is Yes! Life, relationships, experiences, are all also raw material and if you really pay attention, nothing is wasted.

“We’re so engaged in doing things to achieve purposes of outer value that we forget the inner value, the rapture that is associated with being alive, is what it is all about.” Joseph Campbell

What are your thoughts on this?

Have a wonderful and creative day! Be well, sleep well and create something every day!

6 comments

  1. Thank you so much for this wonderful reminder!! I love your blog because it gives me moments of “thought”, it brings me joy to see how you inspire other, you do it well!!

  2. We are collecting corks in San Antonio for recycling. We will have a cork collection at the February 26 Leon Valley Earthwise Living Day (10:00am-2:00pm). It is being held in the Community Center on Evers Rd. Free!!! Corks should not be thrown away!!!

  3. Love the thought that no relationships are wasted time or energy…that the inner development of our self is often times so much more important than the physical development of art, craft, etc….and is at the very heart of what really develops our art! Thanks for the wise words!

  4. Mary, By attending your work shop, helped me realize that whatever it is i focus on,
    I can put my thoughts into writing or creating and it becomes something.
    The more i do this i seem to attract more positive thoughts which is what helps me thru life daily.
    After your workshop i started making B-day cards out of magazines, writing inpiration notes to friends and family and taking pictures of things that inspire me.
    Thank so much for your inspiration.

  5. Maria, all your thoughts here are encouraging and inspiring. And this is the second time in one week that Joseph Campbell has come up – and both in creative sessions, not religious or spiritual talks. Love his quote you have here. So very true. Fun photography. All is raw material and the possibilities are endless!! That’s what most excites me. We will never reach the end of our creativity. I look through my endless photos and see ways to paint or rework or crop and adjust values and colors and it would take many lifetimes to accomplish it all. But I’ve learned to go with the inspiration of the moment as that is the most powerful – not the one I thought i was going to go for but the one that snags my imagination and won’t let go at that moment.

What do you think?

