A Journey in Time With Journals & Notebooks

I don’t know about you but I love collecting and using all sorts of notebooks to write and draw in. Today they may not mean a thing to anyone else but me. But as I read through some of the stuff I’ve written in my little red notebook, it inspires me again to that particular moment of what I wrote. Who knows where they will end up and what they will mean to someone someday!

Recently I was at an art party and noticed that my friend Kathleen McElwaine had some really old journals and notebooks with her. They belonged to her great great aunt who was a home economics major. These notebooks reflect a very important part of her life and Kathleen now gets to be a part of that, many years later. I took a few photos of these notebooks to show you.

I like how she even used brads to insert fabric onto the page.

Here’s a couple of other photos of my friends notebooks.

This one belongs to my friend Amanda

This one belongs to my friend Sonya.

On my last blog post, I mentioned “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin. In the Dec. issue of Woman’s Day magazine, she wrote an article titled “Happy Days” in which she mentions how she started by keeping a one-sentence journal. Each night she wrote one sentence about their family adventures. Years from now when she is trying to remember what life was like, she will be able to look back, page by page. You can come up with your own idea of what to record.

So I encourage you to get started if you haven’t already. It’s a reflection of you, it’s therapeutic, it will give you some happy moments, and you never know what it will mean to someone, many years from now.

Have a great and creative weekend! Thanks for reading.

What do you think?

