In My Solitude

How do you start your day? What is it in your day that gets your creative juices going? For me it starts with the routine of coffee with Roy, usually in our living room with soft music, then when I’m awake, I go through my email and usually find some interesting blog post to read. That usually leads me to my art space for a little while before I take a walk…..alone.

I was reading a blog post this morning as I was in my solitude, thinking, reading, wondering what to give you this week. You can read the whole post here: http://zenhabits.net/creative-habit/#more-4649

From Zen Habits, Leo Babauta: “Just a few of the benefits I’ve found from solitude”:

  • time for thought
  • in being alone, we get to know ourselves
  • we face our demons, and deal with them
  • space to create
  • space to unwind, and find peace
  • time to reflect on what we’ve done, and learn from it
  • isolation from the influences of other helps us to find our own voice
  • quiet helps us to appreciate the smaller things that get lost in the roar

I think he is right on when he puts it in one word: SOLITUDE. It’s the Most Important Habit when it comes to creativity. As the holidays approach us, make it a point to spend time alone, creating.

Can you think of 5 things you like to do, all by yourself?

What’s your #1 creative habit?

“In order to be open to creativity, one must have the capacity for constructive use of solitude. One must overcome the fear of being alone.” ~Rollo May

What do you think?

