Pillow Talk

I’m talking about actual pillows here, the kind you sleep on, lean on, sit on…..and if it leads to “pillow talk” that’s another subject! My daughter Nicole and I have been making decorative pillow cases to create a new look in her new home as she will soon be moving. She also inspired me to warm up my bedroom with new pillow covers. We went shopping for fabric, got my sewing machine out of the closet, and got to work.

This is a very inexpensive way to change up the look in any room. These are some pictures of some of our new pillows.

Also, it seems that you don’t notice things like an article, until it applies to a project you are working on. After completing our project, we came across this article in Dwell. I love what these gals are doing with recycling textiles. It gave me new ideas and now I’ll look at used clothing items in a different way!

Take a quick look.

http://www.dwell.com/articles/mademoiselle-pillow.html

3 comments

  1. I LOVE this! I’ve been meaning to buy new couch pillows but just can’t find what I’m looking for! I think I’ll try searching for cool fabrics now!

    1. Claudia,
      We found some “scrap” fabric pieces at Spruce Upholstery for cheap! It was enough to make a pillow or two and they carry really cool fabrics.
      Let me know if you need any help with this project.

  2. Maria Sophia – I love the fabrics and the look – and Dwell accessories are sold at Target!

    What a great summer project for you & Nicole – and I didn’t know you wore glasses!

    Trixie

What do you think?

