Using Gesso to Change it Up

Sometimes a painting is “completed” and still it just doesn’t do it for me. That was the case with this painting in red and green. I hung it and every time I walked past it, I knew this was not the end for this canvas. So one day I decided to use some gesso and cover the green shapes….then I changed the shape of the rectangles as well. To make a long story short, let me tell you that gesso is a good thing! It’s a way to just start over with a new color and completely change the painting. I was just something I wanted over my fireplace. Before and After! What do you think?

What do you think?

