Exercise #5 Spontaneous Shapes

Last month I posted a blog about a book I am working from to help me improve my abstract art abilities. The book is titled “Painting Abstracts, ideas, projects, and techniques by Rolina van Vliet.

Like many other enthusiastic dreams I had on Jan 1st, this project hasn’t moved as fast as I hoped, but moving forward nevertheless! Exercise #5 called to me this afternoon and so I just jumped in and did this in about 40 minutes. I decided to just let it be and stop at this place and not overwork it. I did not follow directions word per word but that’s okay. In the end I learned that being spontaneous, with no plan, and moving through it quickly is a very good thing when it comes to abstract art.

“A painting is never finished – it simply stops in interesting places.” Paul Gardner

One comment

What do you think?

