Review of art supplies



Some of you have asked me about my preference of art supplies so here’s a little information on what I use.

Paints: Over the past few years I have tried several brands of acrylics.
I started with Liquitex Basics as a beginner. For the most part these paints are hues and do not have the amount of pigment you get with the Liquitex soft body acrylics which I like. I then tried the Atelier Interactive acrylics which are wonderful! They do not dry so fast and this allows you to blend without the frustration of the paint drying too quickly. The most recent acrylics I am using are Winsor & Newton Finity Acrylic. These are also very much like the Atelier Interactive.

Brushes: The best brushes I have ever used are from dickblick.com. I prefer the Blick Mega Brush and own a few of these:  #50 nylon flat, #50 nylon filbert, #30 nylon flat, #30 nylon filbert. I also own a few smaller ones.

Brush Cleaner: The Masters Brush Cleaner and Preserver. This stuff really gets the paint off and keeps your brushes soft.

Canvas: I only use gallery wrapped and I like The Masters Touch and Winsor & Newton canvases. I also buy custom made canvases from Grady Roper at 512-392-4728. These are without a doubt excellent and my favorite!

Good luck and let me know if you still have some questions. Also let me know what some of your favorites are. Share with us!

“No amount of skillful invention can replace the essential element of imagination.”  Edward Hopper

What do you think?

